England Euro 2024 squad in full as Gareth Southgate axes Jack Grealish and Harry Maguire | Football | Sport

England have brought forward their Euro 2024 squad announcement, with Gareth Southgate finalising his 26-man list ahead of Friday’s warm-up friendly against Iceland. The Three Lions manager has taken a number of gutsy decisions in whittling his 33-man provisional squad down by seven.

Jack Grealish and James Maddison are both notable absentees, having featured in the 3-0 friendly win over Bosnia and Herzegovina on Monday. Grealish even notched an assist as his cameo off the bench earned plaudits from fans and pundits alike, but it wasn’t enough for the Manchester City man to make the cut.

There is no place for Harry Maguire, either, as the ‘devastatedManchester United defender has failed to recover from a calf injury in time for this summer’s tournament. Everton centre-back Jarrad Branthwaite has also been axed from Southgate’s defensive ranks.

The inexperienced trio of Jarell Quansah, Curtis Jones and James Trafford have all been omitted by Southgate, but the England boss has certainly found room in his squad for youth. Kobbie Mainoo has been selected in midfield, as well as Crystal Palace youngster Adam Wharton, who only made his senior international debut earlier this week.

The Three Lions have an abundance of talent in midfield and attack, but with Maguire out and Branthwaite not selected, many have pinpointed the back line as a potential weak link. England’s Euro 2024 campaign will kick off with a Group C game against Serbia on Sunday, June 16, before subsequent group matches against Denmark and Slovenia as they look to avenge their defeat to Italy in the Euro 2020 final at Wembley.

With the tournament creeping closer and Southgate switching focus to his group of trusted players, Express Sport takes you through England’s full 26-man squad for Euro 2024…

England’s Euro 2024 squad in full

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal), Dean Henderson (Crystal Palace)

Defenders: Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), John Stones (Manchester City), Lewis Dunk (Brighton), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Manchester United)

Midfielders: Declan Rice (Arsenal), Kobbie Mainoo (Manchester United), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Adam Wharton (Crystal Palace), Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid)

Attackers: Eberechi Eze (Crystal Palace), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jarrod Bowen (West Ham), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), Anthony Gordon (Newcastle United), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), Ivan Toney (Brentford)

Source link